Life

Meal Plan Sunday

I haven’t posted my about my happiness challenge in a few weeks. I plan on bringing it back to you, hopefully better than ever starting next week.  But as for normal series, I present you with my Sunday meal plan for the week. It took all it had in me not to post a smiley emoticon just then. I use them like the air I breathe in everyday social media and texting life, but I figured that blogging is a little more professional. #soprofesh. I am totally joking about the hash tag by the way. I swear English was one of my majors, I just have embraced the hashtag, emoticon, text messaging speak when I talk to friends, and I consider you guys friends…..

Anyway back to food. And eating and cooking. As one of my 101 in 1001 days goals, I want to cook something new every month. I kinda threw myself a wiffle ball there since I am constantly cooking new things. I’m always looking for new things to add to our normal rotation that my non-veggie eating boyfriend and suddenly incredibly picky kid will eat. I like almost all vegetables and all fruit, so I am easy to please. I generally look for things that have vegetables in them but aren’t over powering. That is where the green smoothies come in for the little guy. I know he is getting a dose of dark leafy greens and I don’t have to fight him about it!

Anyway, I know as of late people have been mocking the popularity of pumpkin, but I embrace it completely! I LOVE pumpkin anything. The other day, I made my annual chocolate chip pumpkin cookies and have loads of pure pumpkin left over. I am thinking about turning it into muffins to add to our freezer collection of quick eats. Then there is pumpkin pancakes and scrambled eggs for breakfast as our breakfast go to meals.

For lunch, the kiddo gets free hot lunch every day so we usually do that for him unless there is something he doesn’t like. But he usually is a fan of the lunches. I do leftovers from dinner or salads. Occasionally if I’m feeling ravenous and the boyfriend is home, he is kind enough to make me a panini or toasted grinder.

As for dinners, this is what is on the meal plan this week. I have included links to recipes where I can!

Monday- Pizza and movie night! The boyfriend actually has off this day for the first time in a long time! I am kinda hoping I can convince them to watch Harriet the Spy!

Tuesday- chicken skewers with lime crema and quinoa or rice

Wednesday- Beef stroganoff! I haven’t found a great recipe for this one yet, so I have to keep searching!

Thursday-New recipe! Spaghetti squash lasagna

http://www.fitmomangelad.com/spaghetti-squash-lasagna-bake/

Friday- Leftovers!

Saturday- Chicken stew with butternut squash and quinoa
Hearty Chicken Stew with Butternut Squash & Quinoa...The most popular recipe on my site! | cookincanuck.com #healthy #glutenfree

Sunday- hamburgers on the grill and salad

And that’s what is going on this week! What’s your favorite food?

One thought on “Meal Plan Sunday

Leave a Reply

