Life · NaBlogPoMo

Things that help lessen my anxiety

I rarely feel angry. I feel sad or depressed or afraid. Hardly ever angry or mad. I don’t know what this means. Maybe I should google it, but I have a long standing promise with my therapist to not google any sort of health related things, including this with mental health Lately though, my mental health has been alright. The excessive ruminations have been ok. I worry but not to the point that I get so scared that my body gets tingly or I feel like I cannot function.

Click on the picture to see how it feels to have anxiety!

Here is what I have been doing to keep my anxiety sorta kinda under control like this very second:

  1. First and foremost, obviously medication. I know I will never be someone who can do without it. I’m completely okay with that. I have had asthma all my life and wouldn’t stop taking my asthma medicine to try to prove to myself I could do without it. I can’t. And I can’t stop this one either.
  2. Working every day. I spend a lot of time obsessing when I have lots of free time. Keeping myself super busy gives me less time to focus internally.
  3. Eliminating outside stress factors. Honestly, think what you will, but I listen to absolutely no news. I get the things I need to know from the local new channels on the internet, but usually that is weather. Tragedy and sadness happening in the world around me literally devestates me to the point that I can’t move past it if I watch it too much. It escalates my internal anxiety, because I feel out of control of the world. I don’t know if that makes sense, but it’s what it does. Being anxious usually doesn’t make sense. At least for me.
  4. No longer maintaining draining relationships. Well, I wish I could say that it was my choice, but it would never be my choice. I’m not the type of person that cuts anyone off. I still have to maintain a relationship with the ex, but it is limited to the very minimum. Even then, it stresses me out. But other people who I felt were dragging me down, causing me to focus on the negative, or I felt constantly judged by have limited to no contact in my life. Although this makes me sad in some ways, it has actually been the biggest part of lessening my anxiety.

Those are just a few of the things I have been doing lately to try to improve my mental health. I would be lying if I was to say that I am always happy or completely improved. I’m not. I have days of darkness and just feeling awful. But these few factors have definitely helped in terms of being proactive in trying to keep my anxiety at bay. Do you ever do anything to help when you feel anxious? I’d love to hear!

xo, Justine

NaNoBlogPoMo

6 thoughts on “Things that help lessen my anxiety

  1. I used to be able to switch off and just read a good romantic book. But these days my anxiety is getting the best of me. I think once I’m done with the divorce, I’m going to find a job. I believe it will make a huge difference. Let’s wait and see 🙂

    Like

  2. I think all of your suggestions are great. I’ve found that I have started doing these things myself, and you and I sound very similar. I was always worried about cutting out relationships because,”I didn’t want to hurt their feelings…” no matter how many times they had hurt mine. It sounds like you are on a good path. Whenever I have started feeling anxious, my biggest help in the craziest of times is sort of like, putting myself in slow motion. I just stop. I stop everything and I breath. I look around me, and I grab the closest object to me. I study it until I feel myself calming down. I touch it, and make myself think of how it feels. What color is it? Where else might this item be? Etc. It really helps put me back into focus and I can concentrate again. I hope it helps!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

