blogging · Divorce · Family · Life · Love · Music · NaBlogPoMo

Used to Love You

Tonight, I saw a post on facebook about Gwen Stefani’s new song. Apparently her marriage is ending, and this song is a response to just that.

 

To be completely honest, I haven’t been following Gwen’s career much these days. But when No Doubt came out in the nineties, I fell in LOVE with them. I played their cd every day more often than not. But somewhere along the way, I kinda lost touch with her.

When I saw this on the internet, it literally broke my heart. I recognized myself in it, although less blonde and less wealthy. The feeling of disbelief, grief, sadness, anger. I had been through it all. The fact that you could love someone for so long and have it all turn to shambles. Divorce is an ending and lots of people leave their relationships with words still on their tongues. I know I did. This was perfect.

Leave a Reply

