blogging · Create · Divorce · Family · Goals · Happiness · Life · Love · One Word · Uncategorized

One Word: Light

I love goals. I’ll be posting my January goals shortly, but this year I didn’t make a resolution like I normally do. This year I chose just one word to encompass my year and to guide 2016.

Light.

Last year, I was weighed down with regret, sadness, loss, and grief. I felt it physically and emotionally. I could barely get through the day sometime. It was all I could do to survive. It is not the way I want to live. I heard about this one word concept and the word that kept returning to me was light.

Light.

I want to lessen that great weight I have been carrying around with me. Lighten my spirit, embrace my joy. Live uninhibited by things dragging me down.

Light.

My depression and anxiety didn’t just effect me. It carried over, spilled into my interaction with those who are my constant. I want to be a source of light for them. A soft place, a loving home for them to return to always.

Light.

I want to lessen the unrelenting unforgiving parts of my heart. I quickly forgive and offer grace to those around me, but never to myself. I want to reach out, offer compassion, forgiveness and no longer let this guilt hold me back.

be the light quote aquamarine green ink handdrawn by Helloembrace, $30.00:

2016, is a new year, that is full of promise and things yet unseen. But I am hoping that working on my own personal light will brighten my world this year.

8 thoughts on “One Word: Light

  1. “My depression and anxiety didn’t just effect me. It carried over, spilled into my interaction with those who are my constant. I want to be a source of light for them. A soft place, a loving home for them to return to always.”

    I feel the very same. I want to be that place especially for my children. Good luck with your endeavors!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I have a friend who does the same thing–chooses a word of the year. This year, her word is service, very similar to yours! What was your word last year? Looking forward to hearing about your goals for the year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

