Divorce · Life

Good bye January

So long, January 2016. You weren’t as kind to me as I hoped. To be completely and totally honest with you January, I almost disliked you about fifty percent of the time. Maybe 99% of the time.

If this was a trial month, it was certainly full of trials. I feel like you were trying to teach me something, but I didn’t quite get the message. Instead I slipped head long into depression that has been difficult to climb out of. These past few days I have been smiling more genuinely.

This January, 2016, I finally bought a new shower liner. My bathroom is the cleanest part in the house. It is small and easy to keep up with. The kiddo doesn’t cover the surface with toys and it has a cheery shower curtain. Anyone would think that it was this bright, happy place to do your business. BUT…. there was a shower liner that was covered in ick. You couldn’t see it from the outside, but I knew it was there. It could no longer be cleaned off, and I knew I needed to get rid of it, but I just kept forgetting. I kept not getting around to it to take care of the ickiness. Once I did, I wondered why I took so long to address the problem.

That shower liner was basically my life this month. But here’s to a fresh new start tomorrow. No more test run. I know there might be ick, but I’m not going to let it define my life.

2 thoughts on “Good bye January

Leave a Reply

